The problem with punching

by justbekozlowski

The problem with punching

is you’ll hurt yourself

When you swing your arms

your knuckles are well

but when you have finished

you are hurt too

what is this self-harming thing that you do?

You want to hurt them

but you also hurt you

now it might be just me

but hurting seems like a bad thing to do.

So stop hurting each other

put your knuckles away

save those silly things

for no other day.

If you really must punch

then go to the gym

hit your knuckles on a punchbag

and wear out your skin.

Then you will see

that this hurting is bad

and if punchbag’s could talk,

you’d learn that they’re sad.

Our lives are quite short

compared to the Earth’s

is it really so great to spend time

spreading hurt?

So put down your fists

even if it’s just for one day,

try hugging instead

and see what they say.

People might like you

if you stop hurting them

you can make a new friend

or perhaps you’ll make ten.

Hurting is bad

I prefer to hug

because I don’t think

I would make a good thug.

My knuckles are soft

and my arms are thin

I was born to hug,

that’s my thing.

I don’t get too angry

I’m too busy smiling,

Try a little love

instead of your fighting.

This life is so short

I want my days

to be filled with smiles

all over the place.

When you see a smile,

you’ll know you put it there

and that is the best thing

in the world you can share.

So put down your fists

even if it’s just for one day,

try hugging instead

and see what they say.

People might like you

if you stop hurting them

you can make a new friend

or perhaps you’ll make ten.

