A salute to Iain Banks and other things.

by justbekozlowski

So I have just awoken from my Sunday siesta to learn that Iain Banks has passed away and the Mediterranean sea has turned black outside my window. I suspect it is in mourning. Not only did I read his books but I felt like I had a friend in the man. Whoever the protagonist, I would care and I would root for them. Sometimes in books I quite frankly couldn’t care less but upon reading the books or Mister Banks I would find myself bothered and thinking about the book when I wasn’t reading the book. This doesn’t happen often for me. He is a great, his books will be read forever and he will always be an inspiration. So thank you Iain Banks for everything. Your output will provide generations with entertainment and thoughts they were unaware that they were capable of. Bright, brilliant and irreplaceable. Iain Banks I salute you.

Last night I went with a friend to a regular bar of ours and we found ourselves in the small back room with an open roof to meet the skies. There was a man playing guitar and roughly ten-fifteen people singing along. This went on for quite some time until the table next to ours started speaking to my friend and I about speaking English. Soon the tables were joined and friends were made. We spoke about English and Spanish and everyone was drinking ‘Turbio’ the most fantastic drink to ever exist. Before long our table had made friends with the bigger table with the guitar and at one point a cello. Somewhere in there, a marble table got smashed and I was singing ‘you’ve got a friend in me’. Life can hand you a lot of fun when you least expect it, if I ever work out why it happens, I’ll let you know. Just to clarify, the table smashing was an accident and in no way part of the fun. That’s not how I roll.

I find it funny how people can float in and out of each others lives just for one night or maybe a week like we’re all ghosts, and you might never understand why these people are the way they are but for the time that you know them, they’re like a best friend.

That’s pretty cool if you ask me. Way to go humans. Keep up the good work. If we all treat everyone we meet as an accepted friend then I think we’d get a lot more done.

