Better late than never.

by justbekozlowski

I hope you are all wonderfully happy this year and you had the best holidays you could have!

I have taken a step into the future and got an iPad for Christmas which is completely blowing my tiny mind.

I have downloaded the wordpress app so this year I’m sure you won’t be able to get rid of me.

I have been back in Spain since the 30th of December and I had the 1st and 6th off which was great.

On Sunday I went to see the three kings parade which is probably one of the strangest things I have seen in the streets of Lugo.

Basically some drumming Romans got chased down the street by three blokes on floats dressed as Santa. These chaps I think represent the three wisemen. But then they had little helpers who looked like elves angrily throwing sweets at people which I thought was pretty funny. At the end no one clapped and I wasn’t sure if it was over but I think it was.

For New Years Eve my boss invited me to spend midnight eating grapes with his family which was amazing and everyone was so lovely to me. I had met some of his family before from when they had been around the academy where I work but outside they were all very happy to see me and I saw in the new year in such a lovely way. I’m very grateful!

After this I went to a party which I had been invited to by one of my adult students and as far as I can remember, I had a really good time. It’s hard to be specific but I definitely remember a point about six in the morning singing Auld Lang Syne for some Spanish people who thought I was mad but that didn’t matter. I continued regardless, better late than never. I don’t have many traditions but that is one I like. The words are sometimes slightly improvised but the tune stays the same.

Much like my face, sometimes I will have no idea what I’m saying, but I’ll probably be saying it with a smile.

This year is the year I will write as many letters as is humanly possible because writing this blog is a lovely way to share my experiences but the problem is, when I get home, I never have any idea what other people have been up to. So I’m going to do a Voldemort and split my soul a bazillion times (I’m more ambitious than Voldemort) and not kill anyone but instead just let them know what I’ve been up to.

The problem is I want to stealthily retrieve peoples addresses without getting arrested. There’s no such thing as a surprise any more, we’ll unless you’ve never seen the three
kings parade before…

