justbekozlowski

These words are the property of clever people. I'm just trying to put them in order.

Because it’s not there.

Just because it’s not there,

We don’t have to care,

But we know that we probably should.

We all can ignore,

What’s not at our door,

But that won’t do anyone good.

We don’t always know,

Until we are shown,

That problems exist at all,

Just because we’re not there,

We can’t just not care,

As ignorance can be as cruel.

http://acidcow.com/pics/51729-its-not-happening-here-but-it-is-happening-now-10.html

My apologies for posting a link with so many terrible adverts but the content of the page is what inspired the above.

Cold Feet

When my feet get too chilly
I can look quite silly
As I wrap them both up
In a scarf.

My shoes do not fit
Not even a bit
And they get soaked right through
From the grass.

Then water gets in
Not quite under my skin
But it feels like the ice
Gets in there.

Perhaps when I leave,
I should retrieve
Not one scarf
But maybe a pair.

Some shoes would be nice
Then blocks of ice,
My feet surely then
wouldn’t become.

But my house is remote,
In fact it’s a boat,
Which explains where the water
Comes from.

Not grass as it were
But a sea I do stir
When I tickle my feet
In the water.

Not a walk in the park
But swimming with sharks,
Would explain why my legs
Are much shorter.